Mandela, Pearl Harbor Day, Cyber Monday, Jobs? Army Navy Classic and Winter Wonderland Ice

As my wife and I await a newsflash about our imminent (first) grandbaby, this quiet Sunday morning offers me a chance to reflect on recent events,

Our country’s heartland and parts of Europe received more ice than wanted or needed this week. Mother Nature showing her cool ways, I suppose.  I wonder if the Sochi, Russia Olympic sites have white stuff yet?

With the number of Pearl Harbor survivors ~ equal to the number of US lives lost on 12/7/1941, the passage of our Greatest Generation heroes continues. Those 2,500  ninety-something gents helped change the world.

A somber Christmas, perhaps, for our retailers?  I can’t wait for those AMAZON drones to provide my Holiday home deliveries 🙂

This Black Friday after an expanded shopping Turkey Day, then Cyber Monday didn’t get me excited about mall visits or on-line spending.  It appears that I’m not alone.

A peek at my checkbook and savings accounts offers me a flash of the obvious that I’m NOT better off than I was 5 years ago.

Oh blah dih…lie goes on.

Image

What a great “Civil War” the Army Navy Classic is.

Will the Black Knights of the Hudson stop the Navy Midshipmen’s win streak at eleven games?  This Old Goat hopes not.

Thanks to CBS and USAA for making it a big deal; though I liked it better when it was on Thanksgiving weekend.

I’ll close with one of the countless inspirational quotes from the late, great Nelson Mandela, ON GRIT: “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it.”

Here’s to yours and you for a fine Holiday season.

DF

About davidefrost

A Vermont Yankee in Southern California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

